India beat West Indies in the third ODI to win the series 0-3


Port of Spain, July 28 (SA News / Agency) India defeated West Indies by 119 runs in the third ODI match thanks to Shibman Gill (98 not out) and Yuzvinder Chahal (4 wickets for 17 runs). Won 0-3. This is India’s biggest victory over the West Indies by runs in the Caribbean. India scored 225 runs in 36 overs in a rain-affected match played on Wednesday, after which West Indies were given a target of 257 runs in 35 overs under the Duckworth-Lewis rule. In reply, West Indies were all out for 137 runs.

India won the toss and elected to bat first. Skipper Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill shared a century partnership for the second time in the series. After a partnership of 113 runs, Dhawan returned to the pavilion with 58 (74). He hit seven fours in his innings. After that, Shreesh Iyer, who came to the crease, opened the innings with Gill, but it rained in the 25th over of the match. When the match resumed, the Indian batsmen also increased the pace of runs. There was a partnership of 89 runs between the two players after which Iyer was dismissed for 44 runs off 34 balls thanks to four fours and a six.

Apart from this, Surya Kumar Yadav scored eight runs and Sanju Samson scored six runs not out. Due to rain, the Indian innings was declared at 225 in 36 overs, where Gill remained unbeaten on 98 in anticipation of his maiden international century. On the other hand, West Indies started chasing 257 runs in 35 overs. Deepak Hooda’s first over went for a maiden, after which Mohammad Siraj took two wickets in the second over. Siraj dismissed Kyle Meyers and Shamar Brooks for a wicket. After two wickets fell for one run, wicketkeeper Shai Hope and Brandon King took charge of the innings with a partnership of 46 runs to keep Windies in the match. After the dismissal of Hope (22), West Indies continued to lose wickets intermittently. Captain Nicholas Pooran scored the highest 42 (32) runs for the Caribbean team. Apart from this, King also scored 42 runs in 37 balls while no other Caribbean batsman could cross the 10-run mark.

Bowler Chahal remains the hero of India. He took four wickets by conceding 17 runs in four overs, including the wicket of Hope, who scored a century in the previous match. Apart from this, Siraj and Shardal Thakur took two wickets each. Akshar Patel and Prasidh Krishna got one wicket each. After sweeping the ODI series, India now T. Will turn to the Twenty20 series. The first match of the five-match series will be played on July 29 at the Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *