PSL 7 Final: Defeat Multan Sultans, Lahore Qalandars become champions for the first time


Lahore, February 28 (SO News/Agency) In Pakistan Super League (PSL) 7, Lahore Qalandars became champions for the first time by defeating the favorite and defending champion Multan Sultans.

In the final played at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore, Lahore Qalandars defeated Multan Sultans by 42 runs and crowned the champions of PSL.

Lahore Qalandars, who won hearts every time in PSL, also won the trophy this time under the leadership of Shaheen Shah Afridi.

In pursuit of Lahore Qalandars’ target of 181 runs, Multan Sultans, who won 10 out of 11 matches in PSL, could only score 138 runs.

Mohammad Hafeez, who was responsible for 69 runs from Lahore Qalandars, also bowled well and took the important wickets of Mohammad Rizwan and Ameer Azmat to strengthen Qalandars’ grip on the match.

For Sultans, Khushdil Shah 32, Tim David 27, Shaun Masood 19, Riley Russo 15, Mohammad Rizwan 14 and Imran Tahir returned to the pavilion scoring 10 runs.

Shaheen Shah Afridi sent 3 bowlers to the pavilion in the final thus becoming the highest bowler to take 20 wickets in the event.

From Lahore Qalandars, Zaman Khan and Muhammad Hafeez took 2, 2 wickets while David Wesa and Haris Rauf took 1, 1 wickets.

Earlier, Lahore Qalandars looked under pressure from the start of the final match of the event, however, they scored 180 runs for 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs thanks to Muhammad Hafeez’s half-century, Harry Brooke and David Vissa’s lightning fast innings.

Fakhar Zaman, the top scorer with 588 runs during 13 matches of PSL 7, became a victim of Asif Afridi by scoring only 3 runs out of 12.

The second wicket of Lahore Qalandars fell on the score of 23, Zeeshan Ashraf was caught on an individual score of 7 by David Valli with the help of Mohammad Rizwan.

Asif Afridi gave Multan Sultans their third win in the form of Abdullah Shafiq, who was stumped for 14 runs.

For the fourth wicket, Kamran Ghulam and Muhammad Hafeez made a partnership of 54 runs, Kamran Ghulam was caught on the boundary line while playing long short on an individual score of 15.

His wicket fell to Asif Afridi, thus the spinner of Multan Sultans took 3 wickets for 19 runs in 4 overs.

On the fifth wicket, Muhammad Hafeez established a partnership of 58 runs with Harry Brooke and during this time also completed his half-century.

Tough times for Lahore Mohammad Hafeez batted brilliantly and faced 46 balls, hitting 9 fours and 1 six, his first half-century in the PSL season.

For the sixth wicket, Harry Brooke and David Vissa put on an unbeaten partnership of 43 runs off the last 16 balls, Brooke scoring 41 runs off 22 balls and Vissa scoring 28 runs off 8 balls.

For Multan Sultans, Asif Afridi took 3 wickets, David Valli and Shahnawaz Durmani took 1, 1 wicket respectively, with Shahnawa Dhani becoming the highest wicket taker for Multan in PSL 7.

Under the leadership of Mohammad Rizwan, Multan Sultans have played 11 matches in PSL 7 and won 10 of them while losing one match.

Cricket experts have expected the final of the event between the two teams to be full and thrilling and at the same time have declared Multan Sultans as favorites for their consistent performances.

This was the fourth encounter between Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans in PSL 7, previously Multan had won two matches and Lahore had won one.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *