T20 series: Australia beat India by 4 wickets


Mohali, September 21 (SO News/Agency) Australia defeated India by four wickets in the first T20 match on Tuesday thanks to the explosive half-centuries of Cameron Greene (61) and Matthew Wade (46 not out). Batting first, India scored 208 runs in 20 overs, which Australia achieved with four balls to spare.

Chasing a target of 209 at the big Mohali ground, Cameron Green gave Australia an explosive start. Early wickets of Glenn Maxwell (01) and Josh Inglis (17) in the middle overs gave India some hope, but Matthew Wade combined with debutant Tim David (18) to guide Australia to victory. Wade hit six fours and two sixes in his match-winning innings and scored an unbeaten 45 off just 21 balls. Pat Cummins hit a boundary off the last ball to give Australia victory.

Earlier, Australia won the toss and invited India to bat first and despite early dismissals of Rohit Sharma (11) and Virat Kohli (02), India added 46 runs with explosive batting in the powerplay.

Answering questions about his strike rate, Rahul scored 55 runs off 35 balls with four fours and three sixes and shared a 68-run partnership with Suriyakumar Yadav for the third wicket. Surya Kumar played an innings of 46 runs off 25 balls with two fours and four sixes before being dismissed.

After the wickets of Rahul (12th over) and Surya Kumar (14th over) fell, Akshar Patel was also dismissed for six runs in the 16th over. Dinesh Karthik (06) also failed to play a major role, but Hardik Pandya scored his second T20I fifty to take India past the 200-run mark. Pandya scored 71 runs off 30 balls with seven fours and five sixes, including three sixes in the last over. Thanks to Hardik’s explosive batting, India scored 208 runs by adding 67 runs in the last five overs in 20 overs.

Batting first, India crossed the 200-run mark for the first time against Australia. For Australia, Nathan Ellis took three wickets for 30 runs in four overs while Josh Hazlewood got two and Cameron Green one.

Chasing a mammoth target of 209, the opening pair of captain Aaron Finch and Green gave Australia an explosive start and put on a 21-ball 39-run partnership for the first wicket. Finch, who opened the innings with a six, scored 22 runs in 13 balls with the help of three fours and a six.

Green also added 70 runs for the second wicket with Steve Smith. Smith scored 35 off 24 balls with three fours and a six, while Green’s explosive innings of 61 off 30 balls with eight fours and four sixes was bowled by Khel Kat Akshar.

Umesh Yadav raised India’s hopes by dismissing Smith and Maxwell in the 12th over, but the duo of Wade and David dashed India’s hopes.

Australia needed 64 runs in the last six overs but Wade and David put on a 30-ball 62-run partnership to end the match in the 19th over. Australia scored 22 from Harshal Patel’s 18th over and 16 from Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s 19th over after which the Kangaroos needed just two runs in the last over. Tim David was dismissed by Yuzvinder Chahal first ball, but Cummins hit a boundary to give Australia a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20 series.

On behalf of India, Akshar Patel took three wickets for just 17 runs in four overs while Umesh Yadav took two wickets for 27 runs in two overs. Chahal took one wicket but conceded 42 runs in 3.2 overs. Bhuvneshwar, who gave 52 runs in four overs, and Harshal, who gave 49 runs in four overs, did not get any wickets.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *